top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Takeara Tuesday: Movies

There are lots of great movies out there. Everyone knows that there are some classics that you won't ever get tired of. Here are some of my favorite movies.

The New Edition Story

This is technically a mini-series, but we'll say it's a movie for now lol. I loved everything about this movie. Between the music, the actors, the acting, and the BET performance that came after, I applaud this movie. I watch this every time it comes on. That speaks for itself.

Juice

I love black 90's movies so it makes sense why this is in my list. It's interesting to see how different things were then compared to now. Tupac's portrayal of Bishop was phenomenal and so was the plot. I liked the sense of style and type of music that was represented throughout the movie.

The Temptations

Here is another mini-series that we will treat as a movie. The actors were spot-on, especially the actor who played David Ruffin, and kept me entertained the whole time. I've seen this movie so many times that I basically know the sequence of events and some of the script.

Bring It On

This movie is a classic. While this movie is nice entertainment, it also brings the issue of appropriation to light with the Toros stealing the Clovers' routines. This was a humorous movie and, with cheerleading as the center focus, it was also fun to watch.

Freedom Writers

This movie kept my attention because it showed how a teacher was so genuine in her efforts to help her students succeed that she didn't let anything stop her, not even the rivalries between the students. The diversity of the classroom brought about unique conflicts and lead to the creation of unique resolutions. Overall, this movie was great!

Soul Food

Soul Food consists of good cooking, the usual family disagreements, and, ultimately, familial unity. I didn't like how Teri was treated and how she didn't stand up for herself the whole movie, but it was a good movie. Food really can bring a family together.

What are some of your favorite movies?

Comment, subscribe, and be blessed!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page