top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Overcoming Me

Happy Monday! This week, take the time to replace negative thoughts with positive ones and treat yourself better!!

It has been said that you are your biggest enemy. This has been proven many times in many ways. Some people constantly put themselves down and lack the ability to see their own potential at times. You'd be surprised at how many people have probably talked or thought themselves out of blessings or opportunities because of self doubt. Instead of searching for our worth within, we look for it in things like clothes, houses, or cars. Some of us even try to find our worth through the opinions of others. However, this only adds to the damage. We must "overcome ourselves" to solve this problem.

My definition of overcoming yourself is removing self doubt, negative self talk, and all the other negative things that hold you back from living. Stop selling yourself short for the sake of others or because you don't think you have what it takes. Stop doubting yourself and your abilities. My mother once told me that people can tell you that you're beautiful all day, but if you don't believe it, then it doesn't matter if other people do. What you think and say about yourself really do override what everyone else thinks or says.

It has taken a while for me to overcome myself because it's definitely a process. I've finally grasped the fact that things like this won't happen overnight, as I used to think it would. Although I've learned that I need to be patient with myself, I still struggle with this at times. I've had to replace negative thoughts with positive ones, cut out negative people, and participate in more self care as a way to overcome myself. I've also started writing in my journal and praying more. These things have helped me move along in the journey of overcoming myself. Every time I catch myself thinking negative thoughts or even letting my mind wander too much, I immediately start thinking positively or say a little prayer to get my mind back in line.

Overcoming yourself is easier said than done. You really have to invest time into changing the way you think and the way you see yourself. Something else that works for me is saying affirmations in the mirror. Every morning, I stand in the mirror and say something like "you are enough" or "you are making progress" to remind myself that I'm not perfect and that is okay. It's not enough to just say it though; you have to believe it as well. Learn to see your own value, even when the people around you can't.

How can you overcome yourself this week?

Embrace Your Unique!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page