top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

My Natural Hair Story


My hair hasn't always been natural; in fact I went natural about 2 years ago. I hadn't even though about going natural until the summer before I started my senior year of high school. I realized that going to college meant being away from home for long periods of time. Since my mom had always done my hair, I knew I needed a solution before I started college.

I was browsing Black Girl Long Hair one day and reading the natural hair stories of other girls who were featured on there. I was intrigued by their sudden interest in their natural hair after getting their hair relaxed and perms for years. I had been getting relaxers in my hair up until I did the big chop.

I was originally going to transition, but I ended up doing the big chop because I was thinking long term and knew that I wouldn't be able to effectively deal with two different hair textures. I had never had my hair shorter than shoulder length so this was something new for me. I was nervous but also excited to embrace my natural hair.

Throughout my senior year of high school, I watched my hair grow longer as I figured out which products worked for it versus the ones that didn't. Even through y freshmen year of college I saw significant growth. I even colored my hair an auburn color in the middle of my freshmen year of college to experiment with it. I get trims about every 2-3 months (you should really get them about every 6 weeks) to cut off the dead ends, which promotes hair growth and healthier hair overall.

I typically rock a high puff due to the fact that I am lazy with my hair most of the time and during the school year I have little to no time to style it often. I do make sure to keep my hair moisturized because that influences the health of my hair. I have experimented with the 2 afro puffs as you can see in the picture below and I occasionally wear a twist out when I feel up to twisting my hair (it takes about 2 1/2 hours usually).

I have no idea why I ever thought dealing with natural hair would be an easy job, but spoiler alert: it's not! Embracing your natural hair is more about learning to love yourself and accept who you are, which makes the journey more interesting. It has not been an easy journey dealing with my natural hair, but I certainly don't regret going natural!

Have you ever thought about going natural? What's your natural hair story?

Embrace your Unique!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page